Pay Frequency

The Fair Labor Standards Act does not regulate how often employees must be paid by their employer or how soon they must be paid after performing services. These matters are left up to the individual states, and nearly all states regulate the timing of wage payments in some fashion. This table provides a quick look at state rules regarding frequency of payments and the amount of time that may lapse before wages must be paid after the pay period ends. The table contains requirements that are generally applicable, and each state may have exceptions and special provisions. (Remember that an employer may always pay its employees more frequently and sooner after the end of the pay period than state law requires.)

State Pay Frequency Required Lag Time Before Pay
Alabama No general provision No general provision
Alaska Monthly; semimonthly if employee chooses No provision
Arizona Semimonthly; within 16 days of each other; FLSA-exempt employees can be paid monthly by out-of-state employer 5 days after pay period (10 days if payroll system is out of state); 16 days for overtime or exception pay
Arkansas Semimonthly; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees at larger companies earning at least $25,000 annually No general provision
California Semimonthly; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees Wages earned 1st-15th of month, pay by 26th; 16th-31st, pay by 10th of next month; exempt employees by 26th of month for entire month (safe harbor: within 7 days after pay period)
Colorado Monthly or every 30 days, whichever is longer 10 days after pay period
Connecticut Weekly; up to monthly if labor commissioner agrees 8 days after pay period
Delaware Monthly 7 days after pay period
Dist. of Col. Semimonthly; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees 10 working days after pay period; union
contract exception
Florida No general provision No general provision
Georgia Semimonthly; even intervals; exemption
For officials, superintendents, and
department heads
No provision
Hawaii Semimonthly; monthly if union contract or
director of labor relations allows
7 days after pay period; 15 if director of
labor relations allows
Idaho Monthly 15 days after pay period
Illinois Semimonthly; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees; union contract can provide different intervals Semimonthly or biweekly—13 days; weekly—7 days; monthly—21 days; daily—1 day
Indiana Semimonthly or biweekly; less frequently 10 days after pay period for FLSA-exempt employees
Iowa Monthly, semimonthly, or biweekly 12 days after pay period; excluding Sundays and holidays
Kansas Monthly 15 days after pay period
Kentucky Semimonthly, less frequently for FLSA-exempt employees 18 days after wages are earned
Louisiana Semimonthly or biweekly for manufacturing, mining, or public service corporations 10 days after pay period; 15 for public service corporations
Maine Regular intervals of not more than 16 days; less frequently for FLSA-exempt employees 8 days after pay period
Maryland Semimonthly, biweekly; less frequently for FLSA-exempt employees No provision
Massachusetts Biweekly or weekly; semimonthly or biweekly for FLSA-exempts or salaried employees (monthly if they agree) 6 days after pay period if workweek is 5 or 6 days; 7 days after pay period if workweek is 7 days or less than 5 days
Michigan Semimonthly; monthly OK if wages paid by 1st of next month; weekly or biweekly OK if paydays regularly scheduled Wages earned from 1st-15th, pay by 1st of next month; 16th-end of month, pay by 15th of next month; 14 days after pay period for weekly or biweekly paydays
Minnesota Every 30 days; semimonthly for public service corporations; 15-day intervals for laborers Wages earned in first half of first 30-day period due on first payday; 15 days after pay period for public service corporations
Mississippi Semimonthly, biweekly, or on 2nd and 4th Saturdays of month for manufacturers and public service corporations 10 days after pay period; 15 days for public service corporations
Missouri Semimonthly; every 15 days for manufacturers; monthly for FLSA-exempts 16 days after pay period; 5 days for manufacturers
Montana No general provision 10 business days after wages become due; next pay period if timesheets are late
Nebraska On paydays designated by employer or agreed to by employer and employee No general provision
Nevada Semimonthly; FLSA-exempt employees paid by out-of-state employers can be paid monthly Wages earned from 1st-15th, pay by end of month; 16th-end of month, pay by 15th of next month
New Hampshire Weekly; biweekly, semimonthly, or monthly OK if commissioner agrees 8 days after workweek when wages are earned
New Jersey Semimonthly; monthly for exempt employees 10 days after pay period
New Mexico Semimonthly, up to 16 days apart; monthly
for FLSA-exempt employees
Wages earned from 1st-15th of month, pay
by 25th; from 16th-end of month, pay by
10th of next month; 5 days extra for
out-of-state payrolls
New York Semimonthly; weekly for manual workers (semimonthly if commissioner of labor agrees); less frequently for FLSA-exempt employees paid over $600 a week Manual workers—7 days after pay period
North Carolina Monthly, semimonthly, biweekly, weekly, or daily No provision
North Dakota Monthly or agreed-on paydays No general provision
Ohio Semimonthly; monthly if allowed by custom or contract and wages paid by first of next month Wages earned 1st half of month, pay by 1st of next month; wages earned 2nd half of month, pay by 15th of next month
Oklahoma Semimonthly; monthly for public sector, qualified nonprofit, and FLSA-exempt employees 11 days after pay period
Oregon Every 35 days No provision
Pennsylvania Regular paydays designated in advance 15 days after pay period
Puerto Rico Every 15 days No provision
Rhode Island Weekly; except salaried employees paid at biweekly, semimonthly, monthly, or annual rate 9 days after pay period
South Carolina As designated by employer No provision
South Dakota Monthly No general provision
Tennessee Semimonthly Wages earned in 1st half of month, pay by 5th of next month; wages earned in 2nd half, pay by 20th of next month
Texas Semimonthly at equal intervals; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees 1st and 15th are paydays if employer does not designate others
Utah Semimonthly; monthly if employee hired for yearly salary 10 days after pay period; wages paid monthly—7th of next month
Vermont Weekly; biweekly or semimonthly if employer gives notice 6 days after pay period; 13 under union contract
Virginia Monthly—salaried employees and hourly employees earning 150% of state’s average weekly wage, if they agree; semimonthly or biweekly—hourly employees No provision
Washington Monthly 7 days after pay period
West Virginia Biweekly No general provision
Wisconsin Monthly; union contract may differ 31 days after pay period
Wyoming On regular paydays; semimonthly for railroads, mines, refineries, oil and gas production, factories, mills Wages earned from 1st-15th, pay by 1st of next month; from 16th-end of month, pay by 15th of next month; state employees on direct deposit – wages earned during month pay on last working day of month, for hourly and state university employees, wages earned from 16th of previous month -15th of current month pay on last working day of month; state employees not on direct deposit paychecks mailed by last working day of month

Share This Article...

About The Author...

Charles Read About Charles Read

Charles Read is a former U.S. Marine and combat veteran. He helped convert the joint military unified pay system in 1968 before becoming a Certified Public Accountant and launching a financial industry career spanning 35 years and involving the processing of more than $1 billion in payroll for small businesses across the country. He is the author of the book, “Starting a New Business: A Simple Guide to Financial, Tax and Accounting Consideration.” Charles is a member of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). He is a founding member of the Independent Payroll Processors Association (IPPA).